Welcome To The Unibet Premier League Of Darts – An Overview


The Unibet Premier League of Darts

What Is It
The 2018 Unibet Premier League Darts is an event organised by the Professional Darts Corporation (PDC) – the fourteenth edition of the tournament. It runs on League format.
During the first nine weeks (Phase 1) each player plays the other nine players once. The bottom two players are then eliminated from the competition.
In the next six weeks (phase 2) each player plays the other seven players once. Phase 2 consists of four weeks where five matches are played followed by two weeks where four matches are played. At the end of phase 2, the top four players contest the two semi-finals and the final in the play-off week.

When/Where Is It Played
Starts 1st Feb 2018 and then every Thursday night after that until May 17th which is Finals Night @ The 02

Dublin,Cardiff, Newcastle, Berlin, Exeter, Leeds, Nottingham, Glasgow, Belfast, Liverpool, Sheffield, Rotterdam, Manchester, Birmingham, Aberdeen, London

Who is Taking Part
The players in this year’s tournament were announced following the 2018 PDC World Darts Championship final on 1 January, with the top four of the PDC Order of Merit joined by six Wildcards.
This will be the first time in the event’s history in which Phil Taylor will not take part, following his decision to retire. Unlike in previous years the six wildcards are joint decisions by the PDC and Sky Sports this year. There are no PDC specific wildcards or Sky Sports specific wildcards.

The tournament is noteworthy for its high-number of debuting players. Rob Cross qualified by right due to being in the world’s top four at the end of the season, with wildcards going to World Grand Prix champion Daryl Gurney, Champions League winner Mensur Suljović, and world number 13 Gerwyn Price. In fact, only four of the previous year’s ten players (van Gerwen, Wright, Anderson and van Barneveld) are included this year. Full list below (Alphabetical Order):

Gary Anderson
Rob Cross
Daryl Gurney
Gerwyn Price
Michael Smith
Mensur Suljovic
Raymond van Barneveld
Michael van Gerwen
Simon Whitlock
Peter Wright

What Do The Winners Get

Prize Fund:
Winner £250,000
Runner-Up £120,000
Semi-Finalists £80,000
Fifth Place £65,000
Sixth Place £55,000
Seventh Place £50,000
Eighth Place £45,000
Ninth Place £30,00
Tenth Place £25,000
League Leader’s Bonus £25,000
Total £825,000


About Author


  1. Pingback: The Unibet Premier League of Darts – Round 1 – Daily Ent. Xpress

  2. Pingback: The Unibet Premier League of Darts – Round 2 (Games 1 & 2) – Daily Ent. Xpress

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: